Skip to content

Don’t Spoil The Fun

May 3, 2010

It is Children’s Week. And, I’m almost at the lovely violet protodrake on two of my characters, so apart from wanting the pets on all of them, I’m trying to do those achievements.

One thing I spotted right away: the Orc orphan is the only one that can be summoned in combat! Yes! for pvp, that orc is the one that you want! Good kid, he is!

And with the useful, helpful hint out of the way, here’s the rant.

I actually enjoy pvp. I have spent a lot of  late at night time on it, and while I haven’t done much in the way of Arena, I’m an old hand at the battlegrounds. And the pvp achievements for Children’s week have made the whole thing into a joke. People don’t care about winning at all, only getting their achievements completed. And while I’m not at all unhappy for people to be there cos they want their achievements, it really really annoys me when they insist on ruining everyone else’s fun while they do so.

I ended up spamming ‘Guys, you do realise that if we have no bases, you can’t cap flags’ in the Eye of the Storm, after three or four 4-bases-to-the-other-side walkovers, where 10 people gravitated to the flag and wouldn’t even try to participate in the actual battleground.

And then someone stood in WSG picking up the enemy flag then droppping it just so they could get their achievement. I mean, way to break the game, much?

Please? If you are doing Children’s Week achievements, remember that not everyone there is? Some of us just like to pvp after raid time, and get really upset when you spoil the fun.

It reminds me of a birthday party, many moons ago, where someone refused to enter into the spirit of one of the party games, and ended up wrecking the mood of the party, which died about 5 hours early as a result.

I mean, would it not annoy you if someone who had never really raided, joined your raid for ICC and rather than trying their best, having read up on the boss fights and what to do, just wandered round randomly and didn’t contribute one little bit?

If you’re going into those battlegrounds and making no effort to join in, that’s exactly what you are doing. Except there is no way to get rid of you, so the poor people trying to enjoy their evening are stuck with you.

I’ve had a lot of ‘Blame Blizzard, they made the achievements’ comments in game, but I don’t. I blame all of the people who don’t bother to participate in the battleground they have invaded. It’s perfectly possible to get all the pvp achievements while actually pvping. I know it’s a terribly shocking thought, but it’s true.

In fact, several of them are easier while participating in the battleground.

Here endeth the rant.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 4, 2010 17:00

    It can be a bit dismal in there at the moment.

    On the other hand, it doesn’t take much of an imbalance to push things the other way. If the majority of the filthy alliance force are slack-jawed achievement zombies, it makes for easy honour (and probably a few of the harder actually-proper-PvP achievements become more accessible, if you’re into that sort of thing).

    Oh, for a premade during this horrible event…

    And yes, I am determinedly seeking the incredibly attenuated silver lining here. I don’t actually think there’s much chance of getting the average Violet Protodrake Hunter to do anything useful, respond to basic logic or any appeals to their better nature.

  2. May 5, 2010 04:00

    A few people have actually seemed to think about it at least. So I’ll keep on with the campaign!

  3. May 5, 2010 10:43

    OK, so following on from some hilariously one-sided battlegrounds which were entirely lacking in fun, I retract my previous statement.

    Children’s Week sucks. Down with Orphans!

Leave a Reply

