Skip to content

And I thought holidays were for fun…

April 6, 2010

Blizzard are on to a great thing here, if only they could exploit it. In what other way could you get millions of people to perform pointless repetitive tasks and think they were enjoying it? Indeed, to pay for the priviledge!

More seriously, hello Noblegarden. Yet another in the endless round of festivals. And I’m two alts in, and wondering why exactly I’m doing this.

I know that a lot of it is filling in the gaping hole in my life that not raiding seriously has left. And I know that some of the frustration and feeling of pointlessness is because, like it or not, the raiding gave a focus and a purpose to my playtime that is currently lacking.

Not, mind you, that I’m not raiding. Three or even four nights a week. But it isn’t serious. So it doesn’t take the time it used to, and it doesn’t give me the same focus, either. Indeed, I’ve been taking less and less well geared alts to raids, with the justification that they are doing ‘well enough’ for the raid (which they are, so far), simply to get a bit more of a feeling of challenge. My current record is getting Superior in ICC10, which gave me a strange mixed feeling. Pride, that I can do that well in gear that bad. Guilt, because I have other, better characters that I could have taken, that do twice the dps (and been bored stiff, but there you go). Frustration, that the content is easy enough that it can happen at all.

In a similar vein, I have a second L80 druid now. She’s freshly dinged, and she is in her levelling blues. Her gear, in short, is rubbish. Heroics are still too easy – I’m spamming hurricane as the tree, just like on my Grown Up tree, because the tank does not need me to heal them more than once or twice per pull. Unlike my first druid though, when the party takes damage, if I’m stood there as a cow, I struggle to keep them alive. This means that heroics combine the worst of every world: 90% boredom, and 10% feeling guilty, all in one neat package.

I’m not quite sure where I’m going with this, but I do know that opening eight hundred eggs so far has not helped me to feel less frustrated!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Luiniel permalink
    April 7, 2010 04:06

    I, of course, am approaching this damned festival with a sense of “OMG, Blizzard want me to collect how many eggs to get this title on seven alts?”

    Enough to make my hair fall out, at least.

    (For the hard of maths, an absolute minimum of 728, maximum of 2128. I’m definitely in excess of the minimum and short of the maximum.)

Leave a Reply

